We Rule the Night

Two girls use forbidden magic to fly and fight – for their country and for themselves – in this riveting debut that’s part Shadow and Bone, part Code Name Verity.

We Rule The NightSeventeen-year-old Revna is a factory worker, manufacturing war machines for the Union of the North. When she’s caught using illegal magic, she fears being branded a traitor and imprisoned. Meanwhile, on the front lines, Linné defied her father, a Union general, and disguised herself as a boy to join the army. They’re both offered a reprieve from punishment if they use their magic in a special women’s military flight unit and undertake terrifying, deadly missions under cover of darkness. Revna and Linné can hardly stand to be in the same cockpit, but if they can’t fly together, and if they can’t find a way to fly well, the enemy’s superior firepower will destroy them–if they don’t destroy each other first.

We Rule the Night is available for purchase. Add it to your goodreads here, or grab a copy at Indiebound, Barnes and Noble or Amazon.

You can also read an excerpt here.

Kirkus calls it, “A fierce and compelling breakout debut.”

Publisher’s Weekly says, “Bartlett’s electrifying feminist fantasy debut uses keenly wrought characters, harrowing action sequences, and creative yet economical worldbuilding to explore misogynistic military culture and the human cost of war.”

School Library Journal’s verdict: “For fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Shadow and Bone” series, Gennifer Albin’s CREWEL, or Kathryn Lasky’s NIGHT WITCHES, who like complex, multivolume feminist fantasies, full of sharply realized characterizations, intriguing magical elements, and twisty plots.”

Booklist says, “A breathless series starter from a new voice to watch.”